top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnna Young

Red lined wrap

I was asked to make a wrap lined in red suede after some discussions we decided to use some Italian pre dyed leather I had purchased recently.

After confirming the sizes and number of pens to be carried I started drawing up an outline of the wrap.


DSC_0686[1]

This is my first idea of how the end result would look.

The pencil lines are difficult to see but I transferred the marks from the card onto the suede.


DSC_0687[1]

After sorting the back panel I started to make the piece that would form the pen loops.


DSC_0688[1]

I then started joining the two pieces together having first marked and punched the stitching holes before starting. the first line of stitching was a little wonky but as it was going to be covered later I left it as it was.


DSC_0694[1]

As all of the holes were there I just stitched it all along


DSC_0698[1]

Eventually I got to this point all of the pen slots stitched.


DSC_0712[1]

I did a trial fit of pens just to make sure I was on the right track


DSC_0715[1]

I wanted side panels in the same leather as the outer cover


DSC_0717[1]

I stitched the end panels in place here you can see the front piece with the rear panel and its liner.

This wrap is going to have a centre pocket which will allow paper to be stored.


DSC_0723[1]

Once the back panel was lined and I had formed the flap as part of it I stitched everything together.

As I was stitching the front and rear panels together I made the strap and stitched it in place at the same time. I also added the closure stud the back of which is hidden inside.


DSC_0741[1]

All stitching complete ready to trim the bottom


DSC_0760[1]

Bottom trimmed.


DSC_0761[1]

Finished


DSC_0768[1]

DSC_0770[1]

Thanks

Michael

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page