top of page
  • my63leather

Large travelling pen case

I have for some time thought about making or converting a large carry case for pens. When a UK pen seller asked about such a case I thought it was time for a prototype.


I purchased a lightly used Pilots case from an auction site.




CClearly access would be an issue. I decided to make the front into a flap. A few minutes with a sharp knife and we have a flap.



The inside pocket would not be needed so I removed it. I also mocked up a potential inside storage system. I first considered a racking system for existing trays.




Further consideration lead me to change this plan to stacking trays which would not require internal shelves. There are two metal brackets at the top on each side connecting the front and back panels. As there would no longer be a front panel as such, as it is now a flap I decided to make a replacement from similar metal, which I bent to the required shape.



The addition of the bar across the front will give the front flap something to close against, It will also allow magnets fitted to the flap to secure the flap, until the locks secure everything in place.



This picture shows the position of the support brackets in place the brackets will be fitted at the top of the case.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page