top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnna Young

Pen Sleeve

Recently I was asked if I could make a pen sleeve I have considered making one of these before but preferred to focus on the protective cases I currently make.

My first effort had symmetrical rounded ends.


DSC_0191[1]

DSC_0187[1]

After some thought and some tea drinking I worked out that the taper at the bottom is what holds the pen in place and also allows the pen to be squeezed out.

The egg shape evolved from there this is the next attempt


DSC_0203[1]

I lined the case in red suede and stitched it together.


DSC_0205[1]

Although the shape was better it was a little loose around the clip area.


DSC_0208[1]

As you can see I have lowered the top section a little.

I added a little more length to the next template to make removal of the pen easier.

Here are the evolutions of the templates.


DSC_0210[1]

As the top is a single thickness it is stitched before the two edges are stitched together


DSC_0229[1]

If you look closely you can see the line made by the dividers which indicates where the stitching holes will go.


DSC_0230[1]


DSC_0232[1]

DSC_0237[1]

Cross over stitching is a one off to show what it would look like.

I have also started working on some other colour variants I have red and blue in this Italian leather here is the red.


DSC_0249[1]

Standard saddle stitch


DSC_0251[1]

Here is the red with yellow stitching and yellow nappa leather


DSC_0252[1]

DSC_0254[1]

This started off as a request for one case as with all of the best things it continues on from there so here are the next two orders


DSC_0283


DSC_0279

Blue and red leather pen sleeves are available to order with various coloured interiors £25 including delivery worldwide.

Thanks for looking

Michael

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page