top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnna Young

Pen box

Before I started leather working I made wooden boxes and as I am about to start another box project I thought it would be a good time to share an earlier box.

My small boxes start off with four mitred pieces of 25 mm x 10 mm oak pieces.


IMG_3557_1

I use masking tape to form a hinge at each joint and apply glue to the joints before clamping everything tight.


IMG_3582

IMG_3583

Once the glue has dried I can fit the top and bottom pieces


IMG_0518

Once I have a box I can apply the veneer this one is wenge


IMG_0561

This one is book matched burr walnut two consecutive leaves of veneer edge to edge


IMG_4020

The next stage is the one that causes me many problems I have to cut the box in half as I don’t have a table saw it is very difficult.


IMG_3886_1

When the box has been cut in half the inside edges are veneered and micro magnets are embedded into the front piece to act as closures.


IMG_5467_1

For the internal dividers I glued some pieces of dowel to card


IMG_3665

As the suede liner is so fine I have glued it to a thin card and shaped that over the dowels


IMG_3738

This box has a storage space for two Diamine ink bottles


IMG_3740

Here is the finished walnut box


IMG_3748

The finished wenge box


IMG_0450

IMG_0451

Thanks for reading

Michael

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page