top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnna Young

Chocolate and orange pen case

This case is for a reader of this blog I think the colours will be quite striking.


DSC_0067[1]

I already had some kydex so I was ready to start. I heated the Kydex to the correct temperature and used a scrap piece of leather to form the kydex around a dowel.


DSC_0070[1]

This piece was a little on the short side so I made another one which worked out fine after gluing the seam I cut a piece of suede and wrapped the tube in suede.


DSC_0073[1]

I am going to leave the tube to dry for a little while before I can start on the leather outer cover.

Here is the outer cover well it will be


DSC_0078[1]

Once the leather has been cut although the edge is almost smooth it just needs a little attention from the edge slicking tool.


DSC_0084[1]

Time for chocolate sadly it is only dye


DSC_0093[1]

Once the dye was applied I protected the end of the tube with some packing wrap and started shaping the main body


DSC_0095[1]

When I was happy with the shape I applied some glue and marked out the stitching holes.


DSC_0096[1]

DSC_0098[1]

Stitching on the main body finished


DSC_0101[1]

After trimming the main body I started forming the top piece which had been waiting in a plastic bag to stop it drying out too quickly.


DSC_0104[1]

I followed the same methods with the top piece as the main body marking the holes and then sewing. In this picture I have also rounded the edges as well as starting to sand them ready for smoothing.


DSC_0108[1]

This case is shinny chocolate good enough to eat although it may be a little on the tough side 🙂


DSC_0012[1]

Here are the finishing touches a walnut toggle a disc for initials if required and a pair of brass gold coloured caps for the thong


DSC_0013[1]

Here are my final pictures chocolate and orange almost edible


DSC_0005[1]


DSC_0023[1]

This case is now on its way to its new home I am sure it will be very happy.

Thanks for looking

Michael

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page