top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnna Young

Triple cigar style case.

I have been asked before to make a three pen version of my cigar style case. I could not think of a way to stabalise the three tubes so I have always declined to make one.

I don’t like turning down orders or admitting defeat so this time I said yes with the proviso if it did not work we would look at other options.

Here we go I started with the flat sheet kydex which I cut into strips heated and formed it around a suitable sized dowel.


2018-11-16_10-11-14

The next step was to weld the sides of the kydex  and round over one of the ends.


2018-11-16_10-10-22

I now have three tubes which are the same length as the pens.


2018-11-17_03-50-19

Here you can see the tubes being wrapped in electric blue suede one is wrapped one has the suede on the inside.


2018-11-17_03-50-56

Here are the three tubes wrapped in the suede.


2018-11-17_03-51-26

Normally for a two pen version I stitch the centre seam apply the dye and then glue the first outer cover in place. As I want to move things around I did some careful measurements for the stitching holes before punching them and stitching the cover in place.

I am going to cut some leather pieces to act as supports to hold the tubes in place


2018-11-17_09-20-17

The idea behind these little wedges is to prevent the tubes moving around the centre tube. They will be placed in the lower half underneath the outer cover which will also help to hold them in place.


2018-11-20_01-17-58

The inner lining has been dyed dark blue and is now stitched in place I have also glued the small pieces in place to help to stop any movement of the pen tubes. It is important that these pieces do not stick out above the height of the tubes as they would show through the sides of the outer cover.

The outer covers will be formed around the inner section so I will wait for the glue to harden before trimming.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page