top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnna Young

Notebook covers

My friends at Pen Opulence have a logo and I thought it would be interesting to emboss it onto a notebook.

My first attempt involved carving the logo into wet leather.


20180629_215047

Here I have traced the image onto the wet leather.


20180629_221134

in this picture I have carved the design into the wet leather it is ok but not quite good enough.

The next option is to use a raised image and to mould a piece of wet leather over the top of the image. Starting with a number of prints of the design I glued one to a piece of card and cut out the shapes I then glued those pieces to another print out of the design.


2018-07-10_05-18-38

This is the logo glued to card prior to cutting out I am not an expert at this and in the past I have had issues with the card when the wet leather was moulder over it. It tends to fall apart so I decided to have a go at using leather as the base rather than card.


2018-07-10_05-19-11

Strips of leather replace the card as I was doing this I was thinking. This is going to be interesting as this leather may compress as I am moulding the wet leather on to it.

I am not going to learn anything thinking about it so time to get on.


2018-07-10_05-19-40

The leather pieces are now glued in place and ready for moulding the notebook cover on top.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page