top of page
  • my63leather

Bog oak trinket box

My son asked me to help him make a hardwood trinket box for his desk. A friend supplied some bog oak for this project.



I had purchases this small router table for such projects, It has multiple options and can be used to plane and edge wood as well as adding moldings and rebates.



Once the wood was the correct size the ends were mitred and joined together, withthe top and bottom in place.



After the glue had dried we used the band saw to cut the top away fron the bottom.



I obtained a set of hinges and a catch from Ian at Fine box hardware, we used the same router table to make the slots for the hinges allowing them to fit perfectly. The catch was a little more complicated but I was able to fit it eventually.



This is the finished box with its red suede lining, all that was left to do was to make and fit the drawer.



Bog oak trinket box with stainless steel hinges and catch, the finish is black wax.

48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page