top of page
  • my63leather

Hot foil press.

Updated: Dec 15, 2020

One of the things about leatherwork is there are so many different things you can do.

I make mainly custom leather cases for individuals the ability to offer personalisation is the next step, I have been doing this in a small way with an arbour press and some lead type onto wet leather.




Although I have made a jig for this process it is quite difficult to get repeatable results and blind embossing is the only option.


I have been looking for a suitable machine for some time in fact I bought this brass type in 2018 it took a long time to find the right machine.

I had some aluminium holders made to enable this.





Eventually I found a J T Marshall plattern machine locally which is just as well as it weighs around 70kg, and is quite large.




According to the plate on the machine it was made in 1980, This was the machine when I had just collected it. It was in full working order just in need of a clean and a little lubrication. I will provide more information and pictures as I progress.




43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page